top of page



The office bases its practice in the attention, reflection and response. The  response is sustained by the realism, because it is naturally critical; it is tolerant because it is creative; it is corageous and hard because it operates on the limits. The practice is committed with time and space, interrogation, inclusion and doubt.

NOARQ is the name of a willingness of doing and thinking by hands. Since 1998, the studio evolved into an area of research, creation and production by drawing: for the land, architecture and everyday objects. 

Today it is located in Trofa, but it still maintains its roots in Porto.

noarq, Siza, Souto Moura


José Carlos Nunes de Oliveira is a Portuguese architect.

He is part of Álvaro Siza Vieira's team from 2000 to 2021, where he is responsible for different projects and works, part of them in collaboration with Arch. Eduardo Souto Moura. Currently dedicated to the activity of author, he focuses his research on landscape design, architecture and everyday objects. He continues to maintains some projects in co-authorship with Álvaro Siza and Arenas y Asociados.


Regional Adviser at Asia Designer Communication Platform, visiting professor at the Master in Architecture and Design (March) at the Universidad Europea de Valencia since 2015 and at the Facultad de Arquitectura y Urbanismo at the Universidad de Belgrano, 2020, is frequently invited as a  visiting lecturer to architecture conferences, workshops and exhibitions at various national and international universities, institutions including the 2019 International Architecture Biennale of Buenos Aires .


He graduated in 1998 at ESAP, under the supervision of Arq. Nuno Mateus (ARX Portugal, Lisbon). In 1996 he builds his first project, a house, and starts his professional activity. Between 1998 and 2000 he works with the architect Paulo Costa and collaborates with the architect Jorge Teixeira de Sousa. In 2001 he officially founded his office NOARQ  in Porto. Alongside his collaboration with the architect Siza and his activity, in 2003, together with his parents, he founded B.LOFT, a shop for interior design and designer furniture. In the same year, he obtained the Advanced Studies Diploma in the course of PhD at the University of Valladolid. Due to the intense project activity, in 2002 he interrupted his doctoral thesis.


Actively enganged in many national and international architecture competitions, his work has earned numerous awards and distinctions. The work of the NOARQ studio is documented in detail in two international monographs and has been widely published in the national and international specialist press.




Âncora 1

download curriculum





André Oliveira

He was born in 1988 in Santa Maria da Feira, Portugal. He holds a Master's degree in Architecture from ESAP, Escola Superior Artística do Porto, 2013.
He has been working at NOARQ studio since 2013.

Gaia Ferraris

She was born in Milan in 1989. She holds a Master's degree in Sustainable Architecture from Politecnico di Milano and a Bilateral Master Thesis with FAU, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro. 
She has been working  at NOARQ studio since 2016.

Sara Bitossi   

She was born in Empoli in 1989. She holds a Master's degree in Architecture from the Universitá degli Studi di Firenze, 2015.
She has been working at NOARQ studio since 2017.

Alexandre Azevedo

He was born in 1996 in Trofa, Portugal. He holds a Bachelor's degree in Economics from FEP, Faculdade de Economia da Universidade do Porto.

He has been working at NOARQ studio since 2019.

Eduardo Kenji

He was born in Recife in 1986. He holds a Bachelor's degree in Architecture and Urbanism from the Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, 2010 and a Master's degree in Architecture, Design and Innovation from MArch Valencia, 2020.
He has been working at NOARQ studio since 2022.

Vânia Silva

She was born in 1994 in Guimarães, Portugal. She holds a Master's degree in Architecture from Universidade do Minho, 2018.
She has been working at NOARQ studio since 2022.

Nuno Gonçalves

He was born in 1994 in Braga. He holds a Master's degree in Architecture from Faculdade de Arquitectura da Universidade de Coimbra.
He has been working at NOARQ studio since 2021

Juliana Reis

She was born in 1984 in Trofa, Portugal. She holds a Bachelor´s degree in Graphic Design from IPCA, Instituto Politécnico do Cávado e do Ave, 2009.
She has been working at NOARQ studio since 2022.

Mário Vilela

He was born in Porto in 1995. He holds a Master's degree in Architecture from Faculdade de Arquitectura da Universidade do Porto and Università degli Studi di Ferrara.
He has been working at NOARQ studio since 2022.


António Mira (PT), 2022 - ...


Esra Esendeniz (TR), 2023

Nicholas Holanda (BR), 2022

Nuno Silva (PT), 2022

Atakan Ay (TR), 2022

Ezgi Nill Duru (TR), 2022

Mariangela Roberto (IT), 2022

Giulia Furlotti (IT), 2018-2022

Ana Nogueira (PT), 2022

Daniela Amorim (PT), 2020-2021

Florencia Ruiz (AR), 2020-2021

Manuel Lopez (AR), 2020-2021

Hugo Araújo (PT), 2012-2021

Loredana de Falco (IT), 2019-2021

Pedro Vieira (PT), 2020

Margareth Araújo (BR), 2020

Julia Hegymegi (HU), 2020

Stefano Lenzi (IT), 2020

Laura Conde (PT), 2019-2020

Ricardo Leal Lamas (PT), 2019

Alfonso Alvarez (MEX), 2019

Caterina Debidda (IT), 2019
Sofia Toni (IT), 2019

Mirna Mukulic (HR), 2018-2019

Kutluhan Tuzun (TR), 2019

Cemre Çoruhlu (TR), 2019

Roberto Vale (PT), 2019

Clarissa Serri (IT), 2019

João Quintas (PT), 2017-2019

Gloria Herranz (ES), 2018-2019

Sruthy Lakkimsetty (IND), 2018-2019

Virginia Moya (ES), 2018

Juliana Costa (PT), 2013-2018

Marta Costa (PT), 2018

Bruna Franciscatto (BR), 2017

Juliana Sampaio (PT), 2015-2017

Raul Penteado Neto (BR), 2016

José Fernandes (PT), 2016

Daniel Veludo (PT), 2016

Kristine Balta (LV), 2016

Luis Lima (PT), 2014-2016

Daniel Viana (PT), 2014

Claudia Benitez (ES), 2014

Gonçalo Ferreira (PT), 2009-2013

Lucía Hernández (ES), 2013

Gonçalo Henriques (PT), 2013

David Ferraz (PT), 2012-2013

Dorotea Ottaviani (IT), 2012

Mariachiara Meneghini (IT), 2012

Miguel Acalante (PT), 2011-2012

Samantha Amoroso (FR), 2011

Maria Busolini (IT), 2010-2011

Ana Martins (PT), 2011

Sara Brysch (PT), 2009-2010

José Calvet (PT), 2009-2010

Marcelo Morim (PT), 2009-2010

Diana Fernandes (PT), 2008-2010

João Pontes (PT), 2009

Valentina Esposito (IT), 2008

Renata Santos (PT), 2008-2009

Txema Ballester (ES), 2007-2008

Jorge Vieira (PT), 2001-2008

Ana Coelho (PT), 2007-2008

Marlene Maciel (PT), 2006-2007

Pablo Rebelo (PT), 2006-2007

Rui Cardoso (PT), 2004-2007

Artur Fernandes (PT), 1996-2006

Francisco Guedes (PT), 2000-2006

Marta Oliveira (PT), 2004-2005

Paulo Costa (PT), 1997-2004

Atsushi Ueno (JP), 2004

Cecilia Alemagna (IT), 2002

bottom of page