NOARQ bases its practice in the attention, reflection and response. The  response is sustained by the realism, because it is naturally critical; it is tolerant because it is creative; it is corageous and hard because it operates on the limits. The practice is committed with time and space, interrogation, inclusion and doubt.

NOARQ is the name of a willingness of doing and thinking by hands. Since 1998, the studio evolved into an area of research, creation and production by drawing: for the land, architecture and everyday objects. 

Today it is located in Trofa, but it still mantains its roots in Porto.


José Carlos Nunes de Oliveira (V.N. Famalicão, 1973), or NOARQ, is a Portuguese architect.

Visiting Professor at March, Master in Architecture and Design - Universidad Europea de Valencia, since 2015, he has been invited to lecture and supervise workshops and architecture exhibitions at numerous Universities, both national and international. In 2001 José Carlos obtained a researcher degree in the PhD course at the University of Valladolid. Since 2000 he is an integral part of Álvaro Siza Vieira’s team, and is currently responsible for an array of projects, such as como Parco di Villa Colonnese (Itália), Clubhouse de Vidago, Centro Interpretativo de Angra do Heroísmo (Açores) or the Abade Pedrosa Museum in S. Tirso (Portugal) and the Urban Strategy Pavilion in São Paulo (Brazil) both in collaboration with Eduardo Souto Moura. Nowadays more dedicated to his own practice, José Carlos focuses his research on landscape, architecture and everyday objects. José Carlos graduated in 1998 from ESAP (Escola Superior de Arquitectura do Porto) supervised by Nuno Mateus (ARX Portugal, Lisbon). His first house project was built in 1996, launching his own office as a result. Between 1998 and 2000 he worked with Paulo Costa and collaborated with Jorge Teixeira de Sousa. In 2001 he officially sets up NOARQ office in Porto. Parallel to his position at Siza’s and NOARQ Office, in 2003 he and his parents start an interior design firm called B.LOFT.

His work has been widely published in several specialized magazines and press in Portugal and abroad.


Hugo Araujo    

He was born in 1985 in Trofa, Portugal. He holds a master's degree in Architecture from Universidade Lusíada de Vila Nova de Famalicão, 2011.

He has been working at NOARQ studio since 2012.

André Oliveira

He was born in 1988 in Santa Maria da Feira, Portugal. He holds a master's degree in Architecture from ESAP, Escola Superior Artística do Porto, 2013.
He has been working at NOARQ studio since 2013.

Joana Leite Pinto

She was born in 1985 in Trofa. She holds a Bachelor's degree in Architecture from the Universidade do Minho in 2008. She collaborated with the atelier from 2008 to 2017.
She is currently working as external associate 
at NOARQ studio since 2018.

Gaia Ferraris

She was born in Milan in 1989. She holds a Master's degree in Sustainable Architecture from Politecnico di Milano and a Bilateral Master Thesis with FAU, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro. 
She has been working  
at NOARQ studio since 2016.

Sara Bitossi   

She was born in Empoli in 1989. She holds a Master's degree in Architecture from the Universitá degli Studi di Firenze, 2015.
She has been working at NOARQ studio since 2017.

Giulia Furlotti

She was born in 1990 in Parma. She holds a Bachelor's degree in Architecture from the Universitá degli Studi di Parma and a Master's degree from FAUP, Faculdade de Arquitectura da Universidade do Porto, 2017.  

She has been working at NOARQ studio since 2018.



Alfonso Alvarez (MEX), 2019

Caterina Debidda (IT), 2019
Sofia Toni (IT), 2019

Mirna Mukulic (HR), 2018-2019

Kutluhan Tuzun (TR), 2019

Cemre Çoruhlu (TR), 2019

Roberto Vale (PT), 2019

Clarissa Serri (IT), 2019

João Quintas (PT), 2017-2019

Gloria Herranz (ES), 2018-2019

Sruthy Lakkimsetty (IND), 2018-2019

Virginia Moya (ES), 2018

Marta Costa (PT), 2018

Bruna Franciscatto (BR), 2017

Juliana Sampaio (PT), 2015-2017

Raul Penteado Neto (BR), 2016

José Fernandes (PT), 2016

Daniel Veludo (PT), 2016

Kristine Balta (LV), 2016

Luis Lima (PT), 2014-2016

Daniel Viana (PT), 2014

Claudia Benitez (ES), 2014

Gonçalo Ferreira (PT), 2009-2013

Lucía Hernández (ES), 2013

Gonçalo Henriques (ES), 2013

David Ferraz (PT), 2012-2013

Juliana Costa (PT), 2013-2013

Dorotea Ottaviani (IT), 2012

Mariachiara Meneghini (IT), 2012

Miguel Acalante (PT), 2011-2012

Samantha Amoroso (FR), 2011

Maria Busolini (IT), 2010-2011

Ana Martins (PT), 2011

Sara Brysch (PT), 2009-2010

José Calvet (PT), 2009-2010

Marcelo Morim (PT), 2009-2010

Diana Fernandes (PT), 2008-2010

João Pontes (PT), 2009

Valentina Esposito (IT), 2008

Renata Santos (PT), 2008-2009

Txema Ballester (ES), 2007-2008

Jorge Vieira (PT), 2001-2008

Ana Coelho (PT), 2007-2008

Marlene Maciel (PT), 2006-2007

Pablo Rebelo (PT), 2006-2007

Rui Cardoso (PT), 2004-2007

Artur Fernandes (PT), 1996-2006

Francisco Guedes (PT), 2000-2006

Marta Oliveira (PT), 2004-2005

Paulo Costa (PT), 1997-2004

Atsushi Ueno (JP), 2004

Cecilia Alemagna (IT), 2002

Rua João Paulo II, n. 615, Trofa, Porto, Portugal.

 t. +351 252 414 729   m. +351 933 205 481   e.

© 2019, by NOARQ  |  no arquitectos lda

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • LinkedIn - Black Circle